Established in 1979, the New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards recognise the best Australian writers, including novelists, poets, playwrights, scriptwriters, and authors of non-fiction and children’s books. This celebration of excellence in Australian writing is held on the first night of the Sydney Writers’ Festival. With prizes totalling up to $305,000 in 2018, the awards are among the nation’s richest and most prestigious. This not-to-be-missed event is a highlight on the Australian literary calendar.

Presented with the State Library of New South Wales.