Be the first to hear from some of the just-announced winners of the 2017 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards, including Heather Rose (The Museum of Modern Love) and James Roy and Noël Zihabamwe, coauthors of One Thousand Hills. They’ll discuss the impact that awards can have on a writer’s career, and what it feels like to follow in the footsteps of previous winners such as Peter Carey, David Malouf and Helen Garner. Selected from more than 600 nominees, this year’s winners reflect the best in new Australian literature across a variety of genres.

Presented with the State Library of NSW

Suzanne Leal (Australian)

Suzanne Leal is the author of The Teacher’s Secret and Border Street. A regular interviewer at literary events and festivals, Suzanne is the senior judge for the NSW Premier’s Literary Awards and a board member of BAD: Sydney Crime Writers Festival. A lawyer experienced in child protection, criminal law and refugee law, she is also a book reviewer for The Australian. Her new novel will be published by Allen & Unwin in 2020.